Coherence 2020

Coherence 2020

Shanghai, China
July 6-9, 2020

Coherence 2020: International Conference on Phase Retrieval and Coherent Scattering


The International Conference on Phase Retrieval and Coherent Scattering is the top meeting on coherent scattering methodology. It focuses on the latest developments and prospects of coherent scattering methods and phase retrieval algorithms for X-ray, EUV, electron, laser and beyond, aiming at high-resolution structure determination and dynamic analysis of matters. The conference first took place at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory in 2001 and traditionally held in a waterside location every two years (Palm Cove 2003, Porquerolles 2005, Asilomar 2007, Warnemüde 2010, Fukuoka 2012, Evanston 2014, Sanit Malo 2016, and Port Jefferson NY 2018).

The 2020 edition will be held in Pudong, Shanghai on July 6-9, 2020. The conference site is close to Shanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility (SSRF), Shanghai HIgh repetition-rate XFEL aNd Extreme light facility (SHINE) and Shanghai soft X-ray Free-Electron-Laser Facility (SXFEL). During the conference, there will a tour to these facilities. Additionally there will be a cruise tour on the Huangpu River as well as a onboard banquet, where attendees will enjoy the beatiful nightview of the "Bund".

Invited speakers (update in progess):

Megan Hill (Northwestern University)
Nozomu Ishiguro (Tohoku University)
Irene Calvo-Almazan (Argonne National Laboratory)
Felix Hofmann (Oxford University)
Peng Li (Fresnel Institute)
Michal Odstrcil (Zeiss SMT)
Yanwen Sun (Stanford University)
Ruxin Li (SHINE and SSRF)
Changyong Song (POSTECH)
Dmitry Karpov (Paul Scherrer Institute)
Vincent Favre-Nicolin (ESRF)
Kartik Ayyer (Max Planck Institute)

International Advisory Committee:

Felisa Berenguer (SOLEIL)
Gerardina Carbone (MAX IV)
Henry Chapman (The Center for Free-Electron Laser Science)
Ana Diaz (Paul Scherrer Institute)
Paul Fuoss (SLAC)
Stephan O. Hruszkewycz (Argonne National Laboratory)
Tetsuya Ishikawa (SPring-8)
Jan Lüning (University of Pittsburgh Medical Center)
Harry Quiney (University of Melbourne)
Ian Robinson (University College London)
Béatrice Ruta (Claude Bernard University Lyon 1)
David Shapiro (ALS)
Yukio Takahahsi (Tohoku University)
Pierre Thibault (University of Southampton)
Makina Yabashi (SPring-8)

Local Organizing Committee:


Jiang Huaidong (ShanghaiTech University)
Chen Bo (Tongji University)
Zhao Zhentang (Shanghai Advanced Research Institute)


Dong Yuhui (The Institute of High Energy Physics)
Feng Donglai (University of Science and Technology of China)
Liu Zhi (ShanghaiTech University)
Tai Renzhong (Shanghai Advanced Research Institute)
Tian Yangchao (University of Science and Technology of China)
Wang Zhanshan (Tongji University)
Xu Xuguang (ShanghaiTech University)
Zhang Fucai (Southern University of Science and Technology)

Important Dates
  Early registeration and abstract submission open
  March 01, 2020[1]
  Abstract submission deadline
  April 13, 2020
  Early registration deadline
  May 18, 2020
  Late registration deadline
  June 21, 2020
  July 6-9, 2020[2]
[1] Orginal date: February 15, 2020, delayed due to outbreak of the lastest novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in mainland China.
[2] Future delays are possible, denpending on the global situation of the coronavirus outbreak.

Contact Us

Dr. Qing Xie
ShanghaiTech University
SPST-8-302, No. 393 of Middle HuaXia Road, Pudong District, Shanghai
Tel: 86-21-20685547

Dr. Xianping Liu
Tongji University
No.4800 Cao‘an Road, Jiading District, Shanghai
Tel: 86-21-39526230